50th Annual ACM Awards

April 27, 2015

The ACM Awards are also commonly referred to as The Academy of Country Music Awards, and they are held to honor the accomplishments of the country music industry’s previous year. It is the first country music awards event to be offered by a major organization; this took place in the year 1966. In 1968 the trademark Academy’s hat trophy was first implemented. ABC was the first to televise the Annual ACM Awards in 1972, and Dick Clark Productions joined with the Academy in 1979 to produce the show. Gene Weed was the director while Al Schwartz and Dick Clark acted as producers, and the ACM Awards soon moved from NBC and then to CBS where its remains.


The Awards recognize achievement from the previous year and are generally held in the spring, during April or May. There are a variety of awards which recognize specific things; there are awards which are granted to musicians, videos, songs, albums, and female and male vocalists. The awards with the highest status include Artist of the Decade and Entertainer of the Year.

The 50th Annual Academy of Country music took place at AT&T Stadium, which is the Home of the Dallas Cowboys in Arlington, TX, on April 19th, 2015. Annual ACM Awards opened its doors at 3:00 pm CT, where guests could get a sneak peak as stars arrived on the red carpet. The audience was seated by 6:30 and the show officially began at 7:00 pm. The show was scheduled to last 3 ½ hours and was aired live to the East coast but tape-delayed to the West.

acm-awards-stage For the third year in a row Party for a Cause was hosted by the Academy of Country Music Awards. It was held at Globe Life Park from April 17th-18th and featured more than 30 different country music artists at the outdoor event. The Party for a Cause also exhibited vendors from around the country, live country music performances, and was generally an interactive experience perfect for the whole family.

Luke Bryan and Blake Shelton co-hosted the Country Music’s Party of the Year. Florida George Line received The 2015 ACM Award for Vocal Duo. Reba McEntire was given a Milestone Award which she certainly deserved. Miranda Lambert took home several awards and came out as one of the biggest winners of the 50th Annual Academy of Country music. She took received acm-awards-votra Milestone Award, an award for Female Vocalist of the Year, as well as Album of the Year (Platinum), and Song of the Year (“Automatic”). Taylor Swift was given a Milestone Award while also gently saying her farewells to country music. Garth Brooks, George Strait, Kenny Chesney, and Brooks and Dunn also received a Milestone Award. Vocal Group of the Year was given to Little Big Town. Single Record of the Year was given to Lee Brice for his song “I Don’t Dance.” Cole Swindell received the award for New Artist of the Year. Male Vocalist of the year was granted to Jason Aldean, and Entertainer of the Year went to Luke Bryan. Click here to find other entertainment choices for your entire family.